DA mayors survived a motion of no confidence

DA mayors, Herman Mashaba and Athol Trollip survived a motion of no confidence against them, by the help of opposition parties.

The motion of no confidence was brought by Marlon Daniels of the Patriotic Alliance (PA) and former deputy mayor of the United Democratic Movement (UDM), Mongameli Bobani, against Trollip and council Speaker Jonathan Lawack.

The Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) voted against the motion but were not all smiles when the motion was lost and remained in their seats while the Democratic Alliance (DA) celebrated.

The Economic Freedom Fighters was not the only party that voted with the Democratic Alliance, Congress of the People and  African Christian Democratic Party voted against the motion.

In Johannesburg Herman Mashaba and Speaker Vasco da Gama were facing a motion of no confidence brought by the African National Congress against them.

One-hundred-and-forty members voted against the motion while 121 voted in support of it on Thursday evening.

On Wednesday, the ANC failed to get the motion on the agenda, with the council meeting dealing with other municipal issues first.

The ANC wanted Mashaba removed, claiming that under his leadership Johannesburg residents are receiving poor service delivery.


Join the Discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: