The fourth edition of the Carling Black Label Cup now, starting eleven

The fourth edition of the Carling Black Label Cup is upon us, for the past three season, the Carling Black Label Cup has served to mark the start of the new Premier Soccer League (PSL) season although it is not an official match and only features the two Soweto giants in Orlando Pirates and Kaizer chiefs.

Carling Black Label CupThe Carling Black Label Cup is an unofficial once off Soweto Derby and has been referred to as the spiritual successor of the Telkom Charity Cup. In this competition the fans of each club are given an opportunity to choose their best starting eleven through a voting process.

The 2014/15 PSL curtain-raiser will be contested at Soccer City (FNB Stadium) on Saturday July 26, 2015.

The inaugural tournament was contested in 2011 where Orlando Pirates emerged victorious after a penalty shootout.

The following year Orlando Pirates would dictate the proceedings despite trailing by a goal for almost the entire match, thanks the inspirational Benni McCarthy they equalized and later won that match on penalties.

In 2013 Kaizer Chefs defeated Orlando Pirates by 1-0 to win their first Carling Black Label Cup. Heading to the fourth edition of the Carling Black Label Cup, Kaizer Chiefs will be looking to defend their cup and equal the Orlando Pirates record of winning the cup on two consecutive occasions.

Double Treble winning captainĀ  and veteran defender of Orlando Pirates Lucky Lekgwathi will not feature in the starting eleven after he failed to secure enough votes, the fans went with his partner in central defence Siyabonga Sangweni who spent most of the previous season on the sidelines thanks to a persistent injury.

Kaizer Chiefs will be without 2013/2014 season PSL top goalscorer Bernard Parker as well as Siphiwe Tshabalala who are out owing to injuries.


Starting XI

Orlando Pirates

Senzo Meyiwa, Happy Jele, Siyabonga Sangweni, Rooi Mahamutsa, Thabo Matlaba, Oupa Manyisa, Tlou Segolela, Daine Klate, Sifiso Myeni, Kermit Erasmus, Lehlohonolo Majoro

Kaizer Chiefs

Itumeleng Khune, Siboniso Gaxa, Eric Mathoho, Tshepo Masilela, Tefu Mashemaite, Willard Katsande, Reneilwe “Yeye” Letsholonyane, George Maluleka, George Lebese, Kingston Nkatha, Katlego Mphela


Related Posts

Join the Discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *