Sixteen Actors fired from Generations including Menzi Ngubane (Sibusiso Dlomo)

Sixteen Actors fired from Generations including Menzi Ngubane (Sibusiso Dlomo). Reports emerged on Monday August 18, 2014 that MMSV Productions, producers of SABC 1 flighted sopie, Generations, released a statement saying the contracts of actors participating in the latest strike have been terminated.

Generations Executive Producer, Mfundi Vundla
Generations Executive Producer, Mfundi Vundla

“MMSV Productions, following consultation with the SABC , have today [Monday] terminated the contracts of the striking actors on the SABC1 soap drama, Generations. The termination follows calls by both parties for the actors to return for recordings, following the start of their illegal strike,” the statement read.

Shortly after the news broke, Generations executive producer Mfundi Vundla spoke to Xolani Gwala of 702 Talk Radio to confirm that the news were true and further elaborate. Talking to Gwala, Vundla who sounded jittery and uncertain confirmed that the actors have been fired, the decision was final and the show will go on.

He also said that the termination of their contracts came after they failed to report for the recordings of the show after they were instructed to do so.

According to Vundla, the actors who were fired had recorded enough episodes to keep the show on air until October 2014.

The striking group had previously released a statement saying they had gone on strike after their demands for longer contracts were not met among other things.

It has been reported further the the dismissed actors are taking legal action to challenge their dismissal.

The actors who were fired are as follows:

  1. Anga Makubalo (MJ Dlomo)
  2. Atandwa Kani (Samora Lembede)
  3. Katlego Danke (Dineo Dlomo)
  4. Mandla Gaduka (Selwyn ‘Choppa’ Maithufi)
  5. Menzi Ngubane (Sbusiso Dlomo)
  6. Nambitha Mpumlwana (Mawande Memela)
  7. Patrick Shai (Patrick Tlaole)
  8. Slindile Nodangala  (Ruby Dikobe)
  9. Sophie Ndaba (Queen Moroka)
  10. Seputla Sebogodi (Kenneth Mashaba)
  11. Thami Mngqolo (Senzo Dlomo)
  12. Thato Molamu (Nicholas Nomvete)
  13. Winnie Ntshaba (Khethiwe Buthelezi)
  14. Zenande Mfenyana (Noluntu Memela)
  15. Zikhona Sodlaka (Priska Nomvete)
  16. Zolisa Xaluva (Jason Malinga)



Join the Discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *