Premier Soccer League 2013/14 Season

The Premier Soccer League 2013/14 Season officially concluded on Saturday May 17, 2014 after the SA Cup (Nedbank Cup)  final was contested between Orlando Pirates and BidVest Wits. On that day, Orlando Pirates redeemed themselves when they overcame Wits by 3 goals to 1.

Premier Soccer League Logo


South Africa







Number of Teams



1 (Highest)

Domestic Competitions

ABSA Premiership

Mamelodi Sundowns (6th title)

Top 8 (MTN)

Platinum Stars (1st title)

League Cup (Telkom)

Platinum Stars (2nd title)

SA Cup (Nedbank)

Orlando Pirates (8th title)

Promotion – Relegation

Relegation To

National First Division

Direct Relegation

Lamontville Golden Arrows

Direct Promotion

Chippa United

Play Offs

Polokwane City

International Competitions

CAF Champions League

Mamelodi Sundowns
Kaizer Chiefs

CAF Confederation Cup

Orlando Pirates
BidVest Wits

The Following day, the 2013/14 PSL Awards were held where BidVest Wits Sibusiso Vilakazi was the biggest winner of the night.

The ABSA Premiership was concluded on Saturday May 10, 2014.

Mamelodi Sundowns wrapped up their sixth title since the inception of the Premier Soccer League (PSL) in 1996.

Mamelodi Sundowns after being being crowned ABSA Premiership Champions
Mamelodi Sundowns after being being crowned ABSA Premiership Champions

The league title saw the Mamelodi outfit extend their lead by two titles ahead of the Soweto, Orlando Pirates, who have won four titles.

Mamelodi Sundowns registered a record number of points in at least ten seasons.

Most recently, the only team to reach 60 points was Orlando Pirates and Ajax Cape Town in the 2010/11 season in the season Ajax Cape Town missed out on their maiden league title on goal difference.

Before then, it was them, Mamelodi Sundowns, in the 2006/07 season when they last won the title, which at the time was their fifth with 61 points.

This season, they registered 65 points, 2 more than second placed Kaizer Chiefs and 8 more than the previous champions.

Mamelodi Sundowns coach, Pitso Mosimane, who joined a then relegation threatened outfit after being unceremoniously booted as the South African Men’s National Football Team, successfully saved the club from relegation, finishing at number 10, just 2 points shy of the top 8 finish.

Mosimane bolstered his squad, making sweeping changes along the way and bringing in keep players and diverse attacking options.

Mosimane’s changes to the Mamelodi outfit proved positive as he ensured that they maintained they record as the club with the most ABSA Premiership championships while becoming the first “black” South African coach to win the domestic league.

Mosimane will take his Mamelodi side to the CAF Champions League in January next.

Marking his return to international competition, even if it is with a club, after his disastrous stint with the South African Men’s National Football Team.



On the other end of the ABSA Premiership table is the Durban outfit, Lamontville Golden Arrows, who were on their 13th consecutive season in the top flight.

They were and they still are the most consistent side from the province of KwaZulu-Natal.

In those 13 seasons, they saw the inside of the top 8 on three occasions and went all the way to win it once in the 2009/10 season when the trounced Ajax Cape Town 6-0 at Orlando Stadium.

Lamontville Golden Arrows FCSee more at:
Lamontville Golden Arrows FCSee more at:

The inspiration of those days of glory seemed to escape the beleaguered Durban side as they continually slid to the bottom of the table and eventually found themselves glued there and unable to stage a comeback.

Towards the end of the season, Golden Arrows seemed to show signs of fight but it all turned out to be the last kick of a dying horse.

Under the guidance of former South African International Shaun Bartlett, Arrows outclassed Top 8 and League Cup champions Platinum Stars 4-1 at Royal Bafokeng Stadium and followed up with a 1-0 victory against  3 times former league champions Supersport United at Princess Magogo Stadium, KwaMashu, Durban.

These victories came on the back of two draws, one against Ajax Cape Town and the other against Bloemfontein Celtic.

This proved to be Arrows’ most successful rune of the entire season.

They met their neighbors AmaZulu for their penultimate match and lost 1-0 at Princess Magogo Stadium.

Already guaranteed relegation, they met the Soweto giants Orlando Pirates for their last match and lost 3-1 at Moses Mabhida Stadium.

Polokwane City is another relegation candidate, they will contest PSL/ NFD play offs with the NFD sides Black Leopards and Milano United for the spot in the next PSL season.



Q-Innovation (most points earned in a quarter)

Quarter 1 Quarter 2 Quarter 3 Quarter 4
Mamelodi Sundowns (14) Kaizer Chiefs (18) Mamelodi Sundowns (18) Mamelodi Sundowns (19)




Other Notable Events

Although it fell in the 2012/13 season due to different play calendars, Orlando Pirates saw their second most successful run in Africa when they successfully reached the CAF Champions League Final in December 2013.

Their run opened the door for two more South African teams to compete on international stage. Orlando Pirates themselves already among the four guaranteed teams who will compete in CAF Competitions.

They are now also proud owners of an unenviable record of playing every single game of every single competition they were involved in without winning any trophy. This however changed when they succeed in winning the SA Cup final on May 17, 2014.



ABSA Premiership Table as of May 10, 2014

Team MP W D L F A D P YC RC Home Kit Away Kit
01 Mamelodi SundowsMamelodi Sundowns 30 20 5 5 51 25 +26 65 42 1 Mamelodi Sundows Home Mamelodi Sundows Away
02 Kaizer ChiefsKaizer Chief 30 19 6 5 43 17 +26 63 36 2 Kaizer Chiefs Home Kaizer Chiefs Away
03 BidVest WitsBidVest Wits 30 16 8 6 34 20 +14 56 51 7 BidVest Wits Home BidVest Wits Away
04 Orlando PiratesOrlando Pirates 30 13 7 10 30 22 +8 46 39 0 Orlando Pirates Home Orlando Pirates Away
05 Supersport UnitedSupersport United 30 12 8 10 38 36 +2 44 57 6 Supersport United Home Supersport United Away
06 Bloem CelticBloemfontein Celtic 30 10 13 7 35 32 +3 43 62 3 Bloem Celtic Home Bloem Celtic Away
07 Black AcesMP Black Aces 30 12 7 11 34 33 +1 43 57 2 Black Aces Home Black Aces Away
08 Platinum StarsPlatinum Stars 30 11 9 10 32 32 +0 42 42 0 Platinum Stars Home Platinum Stars Away
09 AmaZuluAmaZulu 30 11 9 10 27 38 -8 42 50 0 AmaZulu Home AmaZulu Away
10 Maritzburg UnitedMaritzburg United 30 10 8 12 34 37 -3 38 64 1 Maritzburg United home Maritzburg United Away
11 University of PretoriaPretoria University 30 10 5 15 25 28 -3 35 54 1 University of Pretoria Home University of Pretoria Away
12 AjaxAjax Cape Town 30 9 8 13 27 36 -9 35 48 0 Ajax Home Ajax Away
13 Moroka SwallowsMoroka Swallows 30 8 7 15 29 39 -10 31 54 1 Moroka Swallows Home Moroka Swallows Away
14 Free StateFree State Stars 30 7 8 15 32 43 -11 29 61 2 Free State Home Free State Away
15 Polokwane CityPolokwane City 30 7 7 16 31 43 -12 28 60 2 Polokwane City Home Polokwane City Away
16 Golden ArrowsGolden Arrows 30 6 3 21 26 50 -24 21 50 1 Golden Arrows Home Golden Arrows Away