MTV Africa Music Awards 2014

The MTV Africa Music Awards 2014 is an award ceremony to take place at the Durban International Convention Centre, ICC Arena, Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa on June 7, 2014.

MTV AMA 2014
Organization MTV
Date June 7, 2014
Location ICC Arena
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
South Africa
Host Marlon Wayans
Producer Unknown
Director Unknown
Network MTV, MTV Base


The MTV Africa Music Awards, also known as MAMAs will be hosted by American comedian and film actor Marlon Wayans of the Wayans Brothers and G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra fame.

The MTV Africa Music Awards 2014 will feature performances from artists such as Miguel, Flavour N’abania, French Montana, Tiwa Savage, Davido, Mafikizolo, Uhuru, Oskido, Professor, Diamond Platnumz, Wizkid, Phyno and Yuri Da Cunha.

Among other attractions, MTV revealed Beyoncé, Drake, Miley Cyrus, Pharrell Williams and  Rihanna as the nominees for the Best International Act category.

Manchester City and the Ivory Coast national team midfielder Yaya Touré, who at the time of the ceremony is likely to be in camp in Brazil for the 2014 Fifa World Cup with Ivory Coast national team, is nominated in the category of Personality of the Year.

Mexican born Academy Award winning Kenyan film star Lupita Nyong’o is also among big names nominated at the MTV Africa Music Awards 2014.

The star of British filmmaker Steve McQueen’s 12 Years a Slave has been nominated for Personality of the Year.

In a year already immensely successful for her after she gained international acclaim in that film.

The categories, nominees and winners (in bold) are as follows;

  • Best Video: Clarence Peters (Nigeria)
  • MTV Base Leadership Award: Ashish J. Thakkar (Tanzania)


Song of the Year

Flag_of_Nigeria Davido “Skelewu”
South-African-Flag DJ Clock (featuring Beatenberg) “Pluto” (Remember Me)
South-African-Flag DJ Ganyani (featuring FB) “Xigubu”
South-African-Flag DJ Kent (featuring The Arrows) “Spin My World Around”
Flag_of_Nigeria Dr SID (featuring Don Jazzy) “Surulere”
Flag_of_Nigeria KCee “Limpopo”
South-African-Flag Mafikizolo (featuring Uhuru) “Khona” (winner)
South-African-Flag Mi Casa “Jika”
Flag_of_Nigeria P-Square “Personally”
Flag_of_Angola Yuri Da Cunha “Atchu Tchu Tcha”

Artist of the Year

Best Group

Flag_of_Nigeria Davido (winner) South-African-Flag Big NUZ
South-African-Flag Mafikizolo South-African-Flag Mafikizolo (winner)
South-African-Flag Mi Casa South-African-Flag Mi Casa
Flag_of_Nigeria P-Square Flag_of_Nigeria P-Square
South-African-Flag Uhuru Flag_of_Kenya Sauti Sol

Best Male

Best Female

Flag_of_Angola Anselmo Ralph Flag_of_Gabon Arielle T
Flag_of_Nigeria Davido (winner) Flag_of_Nigeria Chidinma
Flag_of_Tanzania Diamond South-African-Flag DJ Cndo
South-African-Flag Donald Flag_of_Ghana Efya
Flag_of_Nigeria Wizkid Flag_of_Nigeria Tiwa Savage (winner)

Best New Act

Best International Act

Flag_of_Nigeria Burna Boy Flag_of_Canada Drake
South-African-Flag Heavy K Flag_of_the_United_States Beyoncé
Flag_of_Nigeria Phyno Flag_of_Barbados Rihanna
Flag of Cameroon Stanley Enow (winner) Flag_of_the_United_States Pharrell Williams (winner)
South-African-Flag Uhuru Flag_of_the_United_States Miley Cyrus

Best Live Act

Best Hip Hop

Flag_of_Nigeria 2face Idibia South-African-Flag AKA
Flag_of_the_Democratic_Republic_of_the_Congo Fally Ipupa Flag_of_Nigeria Ice Prince
Flag_of_Nigeria Flavour (winner) South-African-Flag Khuli Chana
South-African-Flag Dr Malinga Flag_of_Nigeria Olamide
South-African-Flag Zakes Bantwini Flag_of_Ghana Sarkodie (winner)

Best Pop

Best Alternative

South-African-Flag Danny K South-African-Flag Gangs of Ballet (winner)
Flag_of_Ghana Fuse ODG South-African-Flag Michael Lowman
South-African-Flag Goldfish (winner) South-African-Flag Nakhane Toure
South-African-Flag LCNVL South-African-Flag The Parlotones
South-African-Flag Mathew Mole South-African-Flag Shortstraw

Best Francophone

Best Lusophone

Flag_of_Gabon Arielle T Flag_of_Angola Anselmo Ralph (winner)
Flag of Ivory Coast Espoir 2000 Flag_of_Angola JD
Flag_of_the_Democratic_Republic_of_the_Congo Ferre Gola Flag_of_Mozambique Lizha James
Flag_of_Togo Toofan (winner) Flag_of_Cape_Verde Nelson Freitas
Flag_of_the_Democratic_Republic_of_the_Congo Youssoupha Flag_of_Angola Yuri Da Cunha

Best Collaboration

Flag_of_Kenya Flag_of_Uganda  Amani (ft. Radio & Weasel)                                                 -“Kiboko Changu”
Flag_of_Tanzania Flag_of_Nigeria Diamond (ft. Davido)                                                            -“Number One”
South-African-Flag Flag_of_Nigeria Mafikizolo (ft. May D)                                                           -“Happiness”
Flag_of_Ghana Flag_of_Nigeria R2bees (ft. Wizkid)                                                              -“Slow Down”
South-African-Flag Flag_of_Angola Uhuru (ft. DJ Buckz, Oskido, Professor, Yuri Da Cunha)-“Y-tjukutja” (winner)

Non Music Categories

Transform Today by Absolut

Personality of the year

Flag_of_Tanzania Anisa Mpungwe Flag_of_Nigeria Chimamanda Adiche
Flag_of_Nigeria Clarence Peters (winner)
Flag_of_Nigeria Omotola Jalade Ekeinde
South-African-Flag Rasty South-African-Flag Trevor Noah
Flag_of_Ghana Flag_of_Kenya Leti Arts Flag_of_Kenya Lupita Nyong’o (winner) 
Flag of Ivory Coast Yaya Toure