MTN 8 2014

The MTN 8 is a Premier Soccer League (PSL) sanctioned football tournament which features football clubs that finish in the top eight of the ABSA Premiership of South Africa.

Country South Africa
Administrator PSL
Season 2014/2015
Date From August 01, 2014
Date To September 20, 2014
Since 1972
Edition 40th
Preceded By 2013 MTN 8
Succeeded By 2015 MTN 8
Number of Teams 8
Kaizer Chiefs (15th)
Runners’ Up Orlando Pirates
2013 Champions Platinum Stars (1st)
Most Successful Kaizer Chiefs (15)
Motto Wafa Wafa
Do or Die

The 2014 MTN 8 which is part of the South African Premier Soccer League cup competitions which will be contested in the 2014/2015 Season got underway of Friday night August 01, 2014.

The teams that finished in the top eight of the ABSA Premiership will square off for the R8 million prize money in knockout matches.

The first round is a single match elimination while the second round will have two legs, a home and away leg.

The teams that will take part in the are Mamelodi Sundowns, Kaizer Chiefs, BidVest Wits, Orlando Pirates, Supersport United, Bloemfontein Celtic, Mpumalanga Black Aces and defending champions Platinum Stars.

Platinum qualified as a result of their superior goal difference to that of AmaZulu who finished the season tied for points with them.

The 2014 MTN 8 got underway a with a match between BidVest Wits and Bloemfontein Celtic on Friday night at BidVest Stadium, Johannesburg at 20:00.

BidVest Wits under the leadership of Gavin Hunt went on the win the match 4-3 on penalties after 90 minutes of regulation time as well as 0 minutes of extra-time failed to yield any goals.

On Saturday August 02, 2014 at 15:00 Platinum Stars traveled to Pretoria to begin their title defence against 2013/2014 season ABSA Premiership defending champions Mamelodi Sundowns. Platinum Stars overcame hosts Mamelodi Sundowns at Loftus Versfeld by 2-1 and booked their place in the semi-finals.

On the same day at 20:00 Orlando Pirates defeated Supersport by 2-1 in the first round. Supersport’s first round defeat at the hands of the Orlando outfit occurs for the second successive season.

On Sunday August 03, 2014 Kaizer Chiefs overwhelmed Mpumalanga Black Aces 4-0 to progress to the semi-final of the 2014 MTN 8 tournament.



The 2014 MTN 8 final was a Soweto Derby, it took place on September 20, 2014 at Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban in the KwaZulu-Natal province of South Africa.

Orlando Pirates vs Kaizer Chiefs 2014-09-20_ 2014 MTN Final_ Soweto Derby_Moses-Mabhida-Stadium_DurbanIn a highly anticipated meeting between Soweto giants Orlando Pirates and Kaizer Chiefs, the match tickets were sold out and the loyal supporters of these beloved football clubs braved a rainy night to see the 2014 MTN 8 being decided.

Tefu Mashamaite’s 28th minute goal was enough to see Kaizer Chiefs defeat Orlando Pirates and crowned 2014 MTN 8 champions.

Kaizer Chiefs secured their 15th Top 8 title, further widening the dominance gap between them and their Soweto rivals – Orlando Pirates.

Kaizer Chiefs won the match with a solitary goal scored by defender Tefu Mashamaite – who also served as captain due to the absence of captain Itumeleng Khune.

The match started like a typical Soweto Derby, fast paced, with each side eager to take charge of the game and make an early impact.

Thabo Matlaba (OP) and Kingston Nkhatha (KC)

Anchored by matured midfield maestro Reneilwe Letsholonyane and propelled by the unstoppable trio of George Lebese, George Maluleka and Mandla Masango – Kaizer Chiefs seem to have a slight upper hand. Masango had a half-chance in the 11th minute.

On the 22nd minute Oupa Manyisa had the best chance of the match at close range but, coupled with his semi-unconvincing effort and the brilliance of Brilliant Khuzwayo, it was saved.

On the 28th minute, Tefu Mashamaite left Siyabonga Sangweni for dead as he brushed the ball with his head while Senzo Meyiwa missed a step in a set-piece confusion and the ball left Mashamaite’s head and went straight for the net.

At half Kaizer Chiefs was leading Orlando Pirates 1-0, thanks to Tefu Mashamaite’s header.

In the send half Orlando Pirates seemed to signal their willingness to stage a comeback with the likes of Thabo Matlaba beginning to get more involved in the attack – Eric Mathoho marshaled his defence repelling all Orlando Pirates advances.

Orlando Pirates Vladimir Vermezović introduced in form striker with just 20 minutes to play to very little impact as Stuart Baxter soon introduced a third central defender – a fifth overall in Morgan Gould.

Orlando Pirates began to crack up in the dying minutes of the game with the likes of Thabo Qalinge throwing tantrums every time the referee blew his whistle.

With Brilliant Khuzwayo at his very best, Kaizer Chiefs frustrated Orlando Pirates right up to the final whistle and successfully secured their 15th Top 8 title with a 1-0 victory.


1. August 01, 20:00 BidVest Wits BidVest Wits 0-0 [4-3_P] Bloem Celtic Bloem Celtic BidVest Stadium
2. August 02, 15:00 Mamelodi Sundows Mamelodi Sundowns 1-2 Platinum Stars Platinum Stars Loftus Versfeld Stadium
3. August 02, 20:00 Orlando Pirates Orlando Pirates 2-1 Supersport United Supersport United Orlando Stadium
4. August 03, 15:00 Kaizer Chiefs Kaizer Chiefs 4-0 Mpumalanga Black Aces Black Aces FNB Stadium

Semi-Finals 1st Leg

5. August 16, 20:15 Platinum Stars Platinum Stars 0-2 Kaizer Chiefs Kaizer Chiefs Royal Bafokeng Stadium
6. August 17, 15:00 BidVest Wits BidVest Wits 0-2 Orlando Pirates Orlando Pirates BidVest Stadium

Semi-Finals 2nd Leg

7. August 23, 20:15 Orlando Pirates Orlando Pirates 3-1 (5-1_aggr) BidVest Wits BidVest Wits Orlando Stadium
8. August 24, 15:00 Kaizer Chiefs Kaizer Chiefs 3-0 (5-0_aggr) Platinum Stars Platinum Stars FNB Stadium


9. September 20, 20:15 Orlando Pirates Orlando Pirates 0-1 Kaizer Chiefs Kaizer Chiefs Moses Mabhida Stadium