Emtee Led the 15th Metros with Four Wins

Emtee Led the 15th Annual Metro FM Music Awards with four wins including “Best Hip Hop Album” ahead of heavyweights Cassper Nyovest and Riky Rick as well as fellow label mate Fifi Cooper who took home three awards for the night including “Best Female Album” and “Best New Artist”. Google+

Emtee - Mthembeni NdevuEmtee (Mthembeni Ndevu) was nominated for in four categories; “Best Remix”, “Best Music Video”, “Best Hip Hop Album” and “Best New Artist”. The Matatiele born Soweto artist won all but the “Best New Artist” which went to Fifi Cooper. Emtee however went on to bag the four award for the night when he won “Listener’s Choice Award”.

The 15th Annual Metro FM Music Awards show got underway on February 27, 2016 at 20:00 (8pm) and was broadcast live on SABC 1. The show was opened by Shekhinah and Kyle Deutsch with the 2015 smash hit, “Back to the Beach” and was followed by Zahara and Robbie Malinga performing their smash hit, “Bengirongo”.

Thereafter the show hosts were introduced, Bonang Matheba and Mo Flava. Lorna Maseko and Rams Mabote presented the first live category, “Best Urban Jazz Album”. Somizi Mhlongo presented the category, “Best Remix”. The Audi Social Media Hub made its first appearance on the show hosted by Lerato Kganyago and Trevor Gumbi.

The other big winners were Fifi Cooper who won three awards, “Best Produced Album,”, “Best Female Album” and “Best New Artist”; Nathi who won two awards, “Best African Pop Album” and the most sought after award of the night, “Song of the Year” which comes with a cool R130, 000.00.

AKA secured two awards [Best Collaboration and Best Hit Single] both for his song, “Baddest”. Cici also took home two awards, “Best R&B Single” and “Best Styled Artist”. While last year’s kingpin, Cassper Nyovest, won just one award, “Best Male Artist”, for his second studio album title Refiloe.


Join the Discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *