Collen Maine is the new ANC Youth League President

Collen Maine is the new President of the African National Congress (ANC) Youth League; he was nominated unopposed at the league’s congress in Midrand, Johannesburg in the Gauteng province of South Africa on Friday night of September 04,2015 in a process facilitated by the Electoral Commission of SA. Google+

Collen MaineThe ANC Youth League congress comes after the March 17, 2013 move by the African National Congress National executive committee to disband the ANCYL’s National Executive Committee. The league has been without leadership, therefore non-existent for the last two years.

The move to disband the ANCYL’s National Executive Committee at the time came in the wake of Julius Melema’s expulsion from the mother party, ANC, after he was found guilty of provoking divisions within the ruling party and of bringing the organisation into disrepute.

Collen Maine is the North West Local Government MEC, he was announced as that province’s provincial ANC Youth League’s (ANCYL) preferred candidate for the ANCYL presidency at the youth day rally on Tuesday of June 16, 2015 in Pudumong near Taung.

According to a June 17, 2015 report by The New Age (TNA), provincial secretary Sipho Dial was quoted saying, “He [Collen Maine] led the branch of the ANCYL in the then ward 13, now ward 26 of the Taung Sub-Region. He served as the member and leader of Congress of SA Students as deputy secretary in Schweizer-Reneke Region.

“Maine had been a member of the youth league since 1996. He was the regional organiser of ANCYL in the then Bophirima, now the Dr Ruth Segomotsi Mompati Region from 2002 till 2007. He served as the deputy chairman of the provincial executive committee of the youth league in 2008. He also served as the NCOP member in 2009. In 2013 he became MEC for Social Development till 2014. He is currently local government MEC,” Sipho Dial was quoted by The New Age.

A report by News24 stated that Collen Maine was the only candidate who had qualified for the position after more than an hour of nominations from the floor. The other hopefuls who were nominated from the floor included former ANCYL treasurer Pule Mabe and former ANCYL deputy president Ronald Lamola.


Join the Discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *