90th Comrades Marathon 2015

The 2015 Comrades Marathon was the 90th Edition of the Comrades Marathon. The Comrades Marathon is an approximately 90 km ultra-marathon run in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa between the City of Durban and the City of Pietermaritzburg.

90th Comrades Marathon 2015
Date May 31, 2015
Edition 90th
Location KwaZulu-Natal
South Africa
From Durban
To Pietermaritzburg
Broadcaster SABC 2
Entries 22, 404
Event Type Road
Distance 87.7 km
Established 1921

2015 Men’s Winner

Men Gift Kelehe
Nationality South African
Time 5:38:36

2015 Women’s Winner

Women Caroline Wostmann
Nationality South African
Time 6:12:22

The 2015 Comrades Marathon was a “up run”, it began in the City of Durban and finished in the KwaZulu-Natal capital, the City of Pietermaritzburg.

The race began at 05:30 am  on May 31, 2015 at the City Hall in City of Durban KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa and finished at The Oval Cricket Stadium, in city of Pietermaritzburg in the same province.

An estimated 19,000 participants were expected at the starting line out of the 22, 404 entries of the 2015 Comrades Marathon.

These participants took on a distance of 87.7 kilometers from Durban to Pietermaritzburg; the route was the longest in recent years, slightly altered due to roadworks in that province.

The normal “up-run” route was extended by a reported 877 metres, “A section of Old Main Road or Josiah Gumede Road is under road works, so there is a deviation to the route with an extra 877 metres added,” race director Rowyn James was quoted by the Citizen.

Ahead of the 2015 edition of the Comrades Marathon nine-time winner Bruce Fordyce cited the Team Nedbank trio, 2013 up run winner Claude Moshiwa, defending 2014 winner Bongumusa Mthembu and 2012 champion and 2014 runner-up, Ludwick Mamabolo as among the favourites to win.

At the conclusion of the 90th edition of the Comrades marathon it was the South African duo; Gift Kelehe for the men’s race and Caroline Wostmann for the women’s competition who emerged victorious.

The victory by a South African pair on the Comrades Marathon was the first in 23 years.

Gift Kelehe is a 33 year old [at the time of the win] police officer from Rustenburg in the North West province of South Africa; he is with the South African Police Service.

He crossed the finish line at The Oval Cricket Stadium, in city of Pietermaritzburg shortly after 11am (South African time) after 5:38:36 of running.

“I’m very happy, excited, I’ve been looking forward to this for five years but God willing today, it happened,” Gift Kelehe was quoted saying after the victory.

“I would like to take this opportunity on behalf the entire South African Police Service to congratulate Constable Gift Kelehe on this wonderful achievement,” South African Police Comissioner General Riah Phiyega congratulated Gift Kelehe.

Caroline Wöstmann is a 32 year old [at the time of the win]  senior lecturer at the University of the Witwatersrand and also a Chartered Accountant from the city of Pretoria in the Gauteng province of South Africa. She won the 2015 edition of the Two Oceans Marathon earlier in the years.

“I followed a plan my coach and I had worked out. It just so happened that I took the lead early. I was sticking to my plan,” Caroline Wöstmann told Pretoria News days after the Marathon.

“I did all there was to do to win – from a stern training regime, a strict diet and lots of prayer. I must say the Polly Shortts was the most taxing during the race,” Caroline Wöstmann was quoted as saying in the same interview with Pretoria News.


90th Comrades Marathon, 2015, Men’s Top 10

Position Runner Country Time
1. Gift Kelehe South Africa 5:38:36
2. Mohammed Husien Ethiopia 5:46:14
3. Hatiwande Nyamande South Africa 5:48:19
4. Lebohang Monyele Lesotho 5:52:32
5. Teboho Sello Lesotho 5:54:03
6. Joseph Mphuthi South Africa 5:54:29
7. Claude Moshiywa South Africa 5:55:17
8. Stephen Muzhingi Zimbabwe 5:56:36
9. Sandile Ngunuza South Africa 5:57:08
10. Thuso Mosiea South Africa 5:59:08

90th Comrades Marathon, 2015, Women’s Top 10

Position Runner Country Time
1. Caroline Wostmann South Africa 6:12:22
2. Charne Bosman South Africa 6:33:24
3. Elena Nurgalieva Russia 6:40:36
4. Olesya Nurgalieva Russia 6:41:18
5. Nina Podnebesnova Russia 6:41:48
6. Eleanor Greenwood Great Britain 6:44:03
7. Emmerentia Rautenbach South Africa 6:45:22
8. Joasia Zakrzewski Great Britain 7:00:45
9. Simona Staicu Hungary 7:01:14
10. Yolande Maclean South Africa 7:01:49