2016 Telkom Knockout

The 2016 Telkom Knockout was was a football tournament sanctioned and administrated by the South Africa Premier Soccer League. The competition which consisted of 16 football clubs which compete in the Absa Premiership and formed part of the 2016/17 Premier Soccer Leagues season. It  was won by the newly former Cape Town City who defeated SuperSport United 2-1.

Country South Africa
Administrator PSL
Season 2016/17
Date From October 19, 2016
Date To December 10, 2016
Since 1982
Edition 35th
Preceded By 2015 TKO
Succeeded By TBD
Number of Teams 16
Champions Cape Town City
Runners’ Up SuperSport Utd.
2015 Champs M. Sundowns (3rd)
Most Successful Kaizer Chiefs (13)
Motto Ziwa Mo
It’s Happening

The 2016 Telkom Knockout was a League Cup for the South African Premier Soccer League for the 2016/17 PSL season. It was contested among all sixteen (16) teams which make up the top flight. The 2016 Telkom Knockout was the 35th edition and saw first time competitors Cape Town City and Baroka FC take part.

Baroka FC well known in the top flight of the South African league system for their exploits in the South African Cup (Nedbank Cup) while Cape Town City newly founded after its owner bought out Mpumalanga Black Aces to form a new Cape Town based club. Although both new, their fortunes starkly contrasted.

Cape Town City opened the competition when they hosted Bloemfontein Celtic on October 19, 2016 at Cape Town Stadium in the city of Cape Town in the Western Cape. The match failed to produce goals in regulation time. Cape Town City were the eventual winners of that match by 2-0 after extra time. Baroka, Mamelodi Sundowns, Orlando Pirates, SuperSport United, Highlands Park, Kaizer Chiefs and Free State Stars were among the first round victors.

In the second round newcomers Baroka FC hosted fellow newcomers Cape Town City. The match turned out to be a thriller with six goals being produced in regulation time. Cape Town City squandered a 2-0 lead to leave the match tied at 3-3 after 90 minutes. In extra time Eric Tinkler’s men  wrapped things up with a Sibusiso Masina 114th goal to progress to the semi-finals. The other semi-finalists were SuperSport United, Free State Stars and Orlando Pirates.

In the semi-finals Cape Town City outclassed Free State Stars 4-1 at Athlone Stadium while Orlando Pirates lost to SuperSport United 1-0 at Mbombela Stadium. In the final played at Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane, Cape Town City defeated SuperSport United 2-1 to win their first title ever.



Date Home Team Score Away Team Stadium
1. October 19, 19:30 Cape Town City 2-0_A.E.T. Bloemfontein Celtic
Bloem Celtic Cape Town Stadium
2. October 21, 20:00 Highlands Park 2-0 Chippa United Chippa-United_Logo Makhulong Stadium
3. October 22, 15:00 Free State Free State Stars
3-1_A.E.T. BidVest Wits
BidVest Wits Goble Park Stadium
4. October 22, 20:15 Kaizer Chiefs Kaizer Chiefs 0-0_(4-2_P) Maritzburg United Maritzburg United FNB Stadium
5. October 22, 20:15 Supersport United SuperSport United 1-0_A.E.T. Ajax Cape Town Ajax Lucas Masterpieces Moripe Stadium
6. October 23, 15:00 Baroka FC 3-1 Platinum Stars Platinum Stars Peter Mokaba Stadium
7. October 23, 15:00 Orlando Pirates Orlando Pirates 2-1 Golden Arrows Golden Arrows Orlando Stadium
8. October 27, 18:00 Mamelodi Sundows Mamelodi Sundowns 2-0 Polokwane City Polokwane City Lucas Masterpieces Moripe Stadium


9. November 05, 15:00 Baroka FC 3-4_A.E.T Cape Town City Pietersburg Stadium
10. November 05, 18:00 Mamelodi Sundows Mamelodi Sundowns
0-0_(1-3_P) SuperSport United Supersport United Lucas Masterpieces Moripe Stadium
11. November 05, 20:15 Orlando Pirates Orlando Pirates 2-1 Highlands Park Orlando Stadium
12. November 06, 15:00 Kaizer Chiefs Kaizer Chiefs 2-2_(5-6_P) Free State Stars Free State Moses Mabhida Stadium


13. November 26, 15:00 Cape Town City
4-1 Free State Stars
Free State Athlone Stadium
14. November 26, 18:00 Orlando Pirates Orlando Pirates 0-1 SuperSport United Supersport United Mbombela Stadium


15. December 10, 18:00
Supersport United SuperSport United 1-2 Cape Town City Peter Mokaba Stadium