2016 MTN Top 8

The 2016 MTN Top 8 was a football tournament sanctioned and administrated by the South Africa Premier Soccer League. The competition which consisted of 8 football clubs formed part of the 2016/17 Premier Soccer Leagues season was won by BidVest Wits who defeated Mamelodi Sundowns 3-0.

Country South Africa
Administrator PSL
Season 2016/17
Date From August 26, 2016
Date To October 01, 2016
Since 1972
Edition 42nd
Preceded By 2015 MTN 8
Succeeded By TBD
Number of Teams 8
Winners BidVest Wits (3rd)
Runners Up Mamelodi Sundowns
2015 Champions Ajax Cape Town
Most Successful Kaizer Chiefs (15)
Motto Wafa Wafa
Do or Die

The 2016 MTN 8 was the football tournament in which the 8 teams which finished in the top 8 of the Absa Premiership in the 2015/16 season competed for the title and a R8 million prize money. The 2016 tournament marked the 42nd edition of the tournament.

The 2016 MTN 8 saw Chippa United make their debut in the competition after they finished in the top 8 of the Absa Premiership for the first time in their history. Chippa United finished placed 6th in the 2015/16 Absa Premiership and went on to face and defeat Platinum Stars 0-2 in the quarter-finals (first round).

The other new comers in the competition were Cape Town City; their formation was as a result of the buy out and renaming of Mpumalanga Black Aces. Mpumalanga Black Aces had previously appeared in the 2014 MTN when they were defeated 4-0 by Kaizer Chiefs in the first round.

The 2016 MTN 8 saw the two Soweto big guns humbled in the first round. Kaizer Chiefs was defeated by newcomers Cape Town City in the first round by 1-0 while Orlando Pirates was defeated by Gavin Hunt’s BidVest Wits 2-1. The two Pretoria giants, Mamelodi Sundowns and SuperSport United, faced each other with the former emerging 3-1 victors.

In the semi-finals BidVest Wits comprehensively defeated Cape Town City 3-0 in a two legged tie, however, all goals came in the first leg which was played at the BidVest Stadium in Johannesburg. Mamelodi Sundowns edged out Chippa United by a single goal which came in the second leg at Lucas Moripe Stadium.

In the final played at Mbombela Stadium in Mpumalanga province, BidVest Wits shocked heavy-hitters Mamelodi Sundowns by 3-0. Although BidVest Wits, especially under Gavin Hunt, is hardly a small team or pushovers Mamelodi Sundowns was at peak of their game and the expectation was that they would easily overcome the Clever Boys.



1. August 26, 2016. 20:00
Cape Town City 0-1 Kaizer Chiefs Kaizer Chiefs Cape Town Stadium
2. August 27, 2016. 15:00
Platinum Stars BidVest Wits 0-2 Chippa United Chippa United Logo Royal Bafokeng Stadium
3. August 27, 2016. 20:15 BidVest Wits BidVest Wits 2-1 Orlando Pirates Orlando Pirates BidVest Stadium
4. August 28, 2016. 15:00
Mamelodi Sundows Mamelodi Sundowns 3-1 SuperSport United Supersport United Loftus Versfeld Stadium

Semi-Finals 1st Leg

5. September 10, 2016. 20:15 BidVest Wits BidVest Wits 3-0 Cape Town City   BidVest Stadium 
6. September 11, 2016. 15:00
Chippa United Logo Chippa United 0-0 Mamelodi Sundowns Mamelodi Sundows Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium

Semi-Finals 2nd Leg

7. September 21, 2016. 15:00 Mamelodi Sundows Mamelodi Sundowns 1-0 Chippa United Chippa United Logo Lucas Moripe Stadium
8. September 17, 2016. 08:15 Cape Town City 0-0 BidVest Wits BidVest Wits Cape Town Stadium


9. October 01, 2016. 17:00
BidVest Wits BidVest Wits 3-0 Memelodi Sundowns Mamelodi Sundows Mbombela Stadium