2015 Telkom Knockout

The 2015 Telkom Knockout is a Premier Soccer League (PSL) sanctioned single elimination football cup competition featuring all 16 premiership football clubs. The first round draw for the 2015 Telkom Knockout cup was held on Monday September 21, 2015 in Johannesburg with defending champions SuperSport United receiving an away fixture to Polokwane City.

Telkom Knockout_Logo
Country South Africa
Administrator Premier Soccer League
Season 2015/2016
Date From September 30, 2015
Date To December 16, 2015
Since 1982
Edition 34th
Preceded By 2014 Telkom Knockout
Succeeded By 2016 TKO
Number of Teams 16
M. Sundowns (3rd)
Runners’ Up Kaizer Chiefs
2014 Champions SuperSport United (1st)
Most Successful Kaizer Chiefs (13)
Motto Ziwa Mo
It’s happening

The 2015 Telkom Knockout tournament commenced on Wednesday September 30, 2015 with a match between Polokwane City and defending champions SuperSport United at the Pietersburg Stadium in Polokwane in the Limpopo province of South Africa.

SuperSport United, under the guidance of Gordon Igesund, started the 2015/16 season rather poorly having only managed to collect five points out of a possible eighteen. Furthermore, in the season opener – the 2015 MTN 8 – they were dumped out in the first round by BidVest Wits.

In the 2015 Telkom Knockout match against Polokwane City, SuperSport United drew first blood through a Thuso Phala 5th minute goal but it was cancelled out by the Puleng Tlolane 12th minute strike. However the 26th minute Dové Womé goal went unanswered for the of the match and ensure that the defending champions, SuperSport United, progressed to the quarter-finals.

On Friday night of October 2, 2015 possible relegation candidates Maritzburg United and Jomo Cosmos met at Harry Gwala Stadium, the home ground of the former. In the 44th minute Siyabulela Shai opened the scoring and ensure that Maritzburg went to half-time 1-0 up. In the 56th minute Kurt Lentjies converted from the penalty spot and put the home side 2-0 up. Cheslyn Jampies pulled one back for the visitors but the come back was never completed and Maritzburg secured a passage to the quarter-finals with a 2-1 victory.

On Saturday October 3, 2015 Free State Stars shocked BidVest Wits with a 1-0 defeat in a match played at 15:00 at Goble Park Stadium in the Free State. Lamontville Golden Arrows shocked the 2015 MTN 8 champions, Ajax Cape Town, by a 1-0 defeat in a match played at 15:00 at King Goodwill Zwelithini Stadium. In a match played at 20:15 at Lucas Masterpieces Moripe Stadium Mamelodi Sundowns defeated Chippa United 2-0 and became the fifth team to book a spot in the quarter-finals.

On Sunday October 4, 2015 Platinum Stars hosted the 2015 MTN 8 losing finalists Kaizer Chiefs at Moruleng Stadium in Lesetlheng in the North West at 15:00 in the afternoon; in the match Kaizer Chiefs defeated Platinum Stars 3-0. In the match between Bloemfontein Celtic and Mpumalanga Black Aces played on Sunday October 4, 2015 at 15:00 at Free State Stadium a decisive result could not be reached in regulation time and extra-time. With the score locked at 0-0 after extra-time Mpumalanga Black Aces triumphed 3-2 on penalties. On October 16, 2015 Orlando Pirates defeated Pretoria University 2-1 after extra time at Orlando Stadium.



  • Quarter-finals

On Monday October 5, 2015 the quarter-finals draw was held despite one outstanding fixture, that of Orlando Pirates vs Pretoria University scheduled for Friday night of October 16, 2015 at 20:00.




Date Home Team Score Away Team Stadium
1. September 30, 19:30 Polokwane City Polokwane City 1-2 SuperSport United
Supersport United Pietersburg Stadium
2. October 02, 20:00 Maritzburg United Maritzburg United 2-1 Jomo Cosmos Jomo Cosmos Logo Harry Gwala Stadium
3. October 03, 15:00 Free State Free State Stars
1-0 BidVest Wits
BidVest Wits Goble Park Stadium
4. October 03, 15:00 Golden Arrows Golden Arrows 1-0 Ajax Cape Town Ajax King Zwelithini Stadium
5. October 04, 20:15 Mamelodi Sundows Mamelodi Sundowns 2-0 Chippa United
Chippa-United_Logo Lucas Masterpieces Moripe Stadium
6. October 05, 15:00 Bloem Celtic Bloemfontein Celtic 0-0_[2-3_P] Mpumalanga Black Aces Black Aces Free State Stadium
7. October 05, 15:00 Platinum Stars Platinum Stars 0-3 Kaizer Chiefs Kaizer Chiefs Moruleng Stadium
8. October 16, 20:00 Orlando Pirates Orlando Pirates 2-1_A.E.T. Pretoria University University of Pretoria Orlando Stadium


9. October 24, 15:00 Orlando Pirates Orlando Pirates 2-0 Maritzburg United Maritzburg United Orlando Stadium
10. October 24, 18:00 Black Aces Mpumalanga Black Aces
1-2 Kaizer Chiefs Kaizer Chiefs Mbombela Stadium
11. October 24, 20:15 Supersport United SuperSport United 3-1 Golden Arrows Golden Arrows Peter Mokaba Stadium
12. October 25, 15:00 Free State Free State Stars 1-6 Mamelodi Sundowns Mamelodi Sundows Goble Park Stadium


13. November 07, 15:00 Kaizer Chiefs Kaizer Chiefs
0-0_[6-5_P] Orlando Pirates
Orlando Pirates FNB Stadium
14. November 07, 20:15 Mamelodi Sundows Mamelodi Sundowns 3-1 SuperSport United Supersport United Lucas Masterpieces Moripe Stadium


15. December 16, 18:00
Mamelodi Sundows Mamelodi Sundowns 3-1 Kaizer Chiefs Kaizer Chiefs Moses Mabhida Stadium