2015 Nedbank Cup

The 2015 Nedbank Cup (2015 South African Cup known as the Nedbank Cup for sponsorship reasons) is a Premier Soccer League (PSL) sanctioned single elimination football cup competition featuring all 16 premiership football clubs, eight (8) clubs from the National First Division (NFD) and eight (8) clubs from the second division (ABC Motsepe League).

Nedbank Cup Logo
Country South Africa
Administrator Premier Soccer League
Season 2014/2015
Date From February 18, 2015
Date To May 16, 2015
Since 1982
Number of Teams 32
Sundowns (4th)
Runners’ Up Ajax CT
2014 Champions Orlando Pirates (8th)
Most Successful Kaizer Chiefs (13)
Motto Ke Yona
The One

The 2015 Nedbank Cup  tournament got underway on Tuesday February 18, 2015 with two matches; the first match was contested between defending champions Orlando Pirates FC and the second division side, Tornado FC, at Orlando Stadium in Soweto, Johannesburg.

In that match Orlando Pirates FC who were playing at their home ground, Orlando Stadium, breezed pass the lesser known Eastern Cape outfit with four (4) goals to nothing.

Orlando Pirates FC goals came from Lennox Bacela (PG, 7′), Thandani Ntshumayelo (24′, 72′) and Sifiso Myeni (87′).

The second match was contested between premiership clubs Mpumalanga Black Aces FC and Maritzburg United FC at Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit.

Goals from Lehlohonolo Nonyane (27′) and Dino Ndlovu (60′) helped Mpumalanga Black Aces FC edge out Maritzburg United FC 2-1 with the visitor’s goal being scored by Mohamed Anas (75′).

On Friday night of February 20, 2015 the beleaguered Durban outfit, AmaZulu FC, became the first casualty of the lower tier side when they suffered a 2-1 defeat to fellow Durbanites Lamontville Golden Arrows who play i n the National First Division.

On Saturday February 21, 2015 a total of seven (7) matches were played; Black Leopards overwhelmed FC Cape Town 6-2, Kaizer Chiefs defeated Edu Sports 4-0  while Mamelodi Sundowns beat Thanda Royal Zulu 2-0.

Vasco Da Gama defeated Winnerspark Pietersburg 3-1 after extra time and defeated Phiva Young Stars 2-1 also after extra time.

Chippa United played to a goalless draw against the ABC Motsepe League side, Natal United, and later lost 4-2 on penalties.

BidVest Wits also played to a goalless draw against Free State Stars and went on to win 4-2 on penalties.

On Sunday February 22, 2015 four (4) matches were played and all ended in decisive scores; Maluti FET College defeated African Warriors 2-1, Platinum Stars defeated The Magic 3-0, Bloemfontein Celtic beat Roses United 3-0 and Ajax Cape Town trounced Mainstay United 9-1.

On Wednesday night of February 25, 2015 the last two matches of the round of 32 were contested; at ABSA Tuks Stadium, Pretoria University beat struggling Moroka Swallows 2-1.

At Lucas Masterpieces Moripe Stadium, Gordon Igesund‘s Supersport United shocked the on form Polokwane City with a 4-1 defeat.

At the conclusion of the round of 32 these are the 16 teams that were left; Orlando Pirates (Premiership), Mpumalanga Black Aces (Premiership), Golden Arrows (NFD), Black Leopards (NFD), Natal United (ABC), Vasco Da Gama (NFD), Jomo Cosmos (NFD), Kaizer Chiefs  (Premiership), Mamelodi Sundowns  (Premiership), BidVest Wits (Premiership), Maluti FET College (NFD), Platinum Stars (Premiership), Ajax Cape Town (Premiership), Bloemfontein Celtic (Premiership), Pretoria University (Premiership) and Supersport United (Premiership).

The round of 16 got under way on Tuesday March 17, 2015 with a match between BidVest Wits and the University of Pretoria at the BidVest Stadium in Milpark, Johannesburg.

BidVest Wits overwhelmed University of Pretoria by 3 goals to nil (Kees Kwakman 39′, Sibusiso Vilakazi  56′ and Henrico Botes 63’).

On Friday March 20, 2015 Ajax Cape Town beat Bloemfontein Celtic by 1-0 through a Tashreeq Morris goal.

In the weekend fixtures it was the Kaizer Chiefs 2-1 defeat at FNB Stadium against National First Division side, Black Leopards, which became the talking point of the tournament.

Kaizer Chiefs were soon joined by their nemesis, Orlando Pirates, on the sidelines of the 2015 Nedbank Cup after they succumbed to a far superior side, Supersport United.

At the conclusion of the round of 16 of the 2015 Nedbank Cup the following teams were left; BidVest Wits (Absa Premiership), Ajax Cape Town (Absa Premiership), Vasco da Gama (National First Division), Mpumalanga Black Aces (Absa Premiership), Mamelodi Sundowns (Absa Premiership), Black Leopards (National First Division), Supersport United (Absa Premiership) and Lamontville Golden Arrows (National First Division).




Date Home Team Score Away Team Venue
01. February 18, 2015 Orlando Pirates 4-0 Tornado Orlando Stadium, Johannesburg
02. February 18, 2015 Mpumalanga Black Aces 2-1 Maritzburg United Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit
03. February 20, 2015 AmaZulu 1-2 Golden Arrows Princess Magogo Stadium, Durban
04. February 21, 2015 Black Leopards 6-2 FC Cape Town Thohoyandou Stadium, Thohoyandou
05. February 21, 2015 Chippa United 0-0_[2-4_P] Natal United Wolfson Stadium, Uitenhage
06. February 21, 2015 Winnerspark Pietersburg 2-3_A.E.T. Vasco Da Gama Giyani Stadium, Giyani
07. February 21, 2015 Phiva Young Stars 1-2_A.E.T. Jomo Cosmos KaMhlushwa Stadium, KaMhlushwa
08. February 21, 2015 Kaizer Chiefs 4-0 Edu Sports FNB Stadium, Johannesburg
09. February 21, 2015 Mamelodi Sundowns 2-0 Thanda Royal Zulu Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria
10. February 21, 2015 BidVest Wits 0-0_[4-2_P] Free State Stars BidVest Stadium, Johannesburg
11. February 22, 2015 African Warriors 1-2 Maluti FET College Charles Mopeli Stadium, Phuthaditjhaba
12. February 22, 2015 Platinum Stars 3-0 The Magic Royal Bafokeng, Phokeng
13. February 22, 2015 Mainstay United 1-9 Ajax Cape Town Mxolisi Bicky Jacobs Stadium, Upington
14. February 22, 2015 Bloemfontein Celtic 3-1 Roses United Seisa Ramabodu Stadium, Bloemfontein
15. February 25, 2015 Pretoria University 2-1 Moroka Swallows  ABSA Tuks Stadium, Pretoria
16. February 25, 2015 Supersport United 4-1 Polokwane City Lucas Masterpieces Moripe Stadium, Pretoria 

Last 16

Date Home Team Score Away Team Venue
17. 2015.03.17, 19:30 BidVest Wits 3-0 Pretoria University BidVest Stadium, Johannesburg
18. 2015.03.20, 20:00 Ajax Cape Town 1-0 Bloemfontein Celtic Athlone Stadium, Cape Town
19. 2015.03.21, 15:00 Mpumalanga Black Aces 1-0 Jomo Cosmos Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit
20. 2015-03-21, 15:00 Vasco Da Gama 3-0 Maluti FET College Parrow Park Stadium, Cape Town
21. 2015-03-21, 17:30 Kaizer Chiefs 1-2 Black Leopards FNB Stadium, Johannesburg
22. 2015-03-21, 20:30 Supersport United 1-0 Orlando Pirates Peter Mokaba Stadium, Polokwane
23. 2015.03.22, 15:00 Golden Arrows 1-0 Natal United Chatsworth Stadium, Durban
24. 2015.03.22, 15:00
Platinum Stars 1-3 Mamelodi Sundowns Royal Bafokeng Stadium, Phokeng


Date Home Team Score Away Team Venue
25. 2015.04.10, 20:00
Ajax Cape Town 2-1 BidVest Wits Athlone Stadium, Cape Town
26. 2015.04.11, 15:00
Black Leopards 2-3_A.E.T. Vasco da Gama Thohoyandou Stadium, Thohoyandou
27. 2015.04.11, 20:15
Supersport United 1-0 Golden Arrows Peter Mokaba Stadium, Polokwane
28. 2015.04.12, 15:00
Mpumalanga Black Aces 0-2 Mamelodi Sundowns Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit


Date Home Team Score Away Team Venue
29. 2015.04.25, 20:15 Ajax Cape Town 2-1 Super Sport United Athlone Stadium, Cape Town
30. 2015.04.26, 15:00 Mamelodi Sundowns 1-0 Vasco da Gama Lucas Masterpieces Moripe Stadium, Pretoria


31. 2015.05.16, 15:00 Ajax Cape Town 0-0_[3-4_P] Mamelodi Sundowns Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth

[showsitemap aut=”1″ depth=10 group=title link=”<a title=&quot;%title%&quot; href=&quot;%permalink%&quot;>%title%</a>” exclude=0 reverse=0 grouponly=0]