2014 Telkom Knockout Final

The 2014 Telkom Knockout Final was a single elimination football match contested between Supersport United and Platinum Stars on Saturday afternoon of November 29, 2014 at 3pm (15:00) at Orlando Stadium in Soweto, Johannesburg to decide the winner of the 2014 Premier Soccer League Cup known as the 2014 Telkom Knockout for sponsorship reasons.

Supersport United vs Platinum Stars 2014 Telkom Knockout Final
Competition 2014 Telkom Knockout
Administrator Premier Soccer League
Season 2014-2015
Home Team Supersport United
Away Team Platinum Stars
Date November 29, 2014
Time 15:00 (South Africa)
Venue Orlando Stadium
City Soweto, JHB, RSA
Attendance – –
Weather Partly Cloudy
25°C (77 °F)
71% humidity


Half-time Score 1-1
Full-time Score 1-1
After Extra Time 3-2
SSU Goal Scorer Clayton Daniels 35′ 103′
Thuso Phala 111′
PSFC Goal Scorer Robert Ng’ambi 28′
Mogakolodi Ngele 104′

Match Officials

Referee Thando Ndzandzeka
Assistants Moses Phale
Clifford Motaung
Fourth Official Bafana Mosia

The 2014 Telkom Knockout Final was a single elimination football match contested between Supersport United and Platinum Stars.

The match took place on Saturday afternoon of November 29, 2014 at 3pm (15:00) South African time at Orlando Stadium in Soweto, Johannesburg in the Gauteng province of South Africa.

The match marked a third cup final appearance for Allan Freese since he took over as head coach at Platinum Stars.

While for Gordon Igesund it was his first cup competition and cup final appearance as head coach of Supersport United.

Gordon Igesund made his return to the Premier Soccer League on September 3, 2014 when he was appointed head coach of Supersport United replacing Cavin Johnson who had struggled at the helm of the Pretoria outfit.

He (Gordon Igesund) spent the two years at the helm of the South African Senior Men’s Team (Bafana Bafana) and at the end of his contract SAFA did not offer him an extension instead was replaced by Shakes Mashaba and therefore returned to club football.

Platinum Stars began their 2014 Telkom Knockout campaign on Saturday afternoon of October 4, 2014 at their home ground at Royal Bafokeng Stadium against Chippa United and they emerged 1-0 victorious.

On Sunday afternoon of October 26, 2014 Platinum Stars played away against Kaizer Chiefs at FNB Stadium. The match finished 0-0 after regulation time and extra-time, Platinum Stars won 5-3 on penalties.

On Sunday afternoon of November 9, 2014 Platinum Stars hosted Mamelodi Sundowns at Royal Bafokeng Stadium and defeated them 1-0 to book their spot in the 2014 Telkom Knockout final – also make a second consecutive final appearance of the same cup.

Furthermore; Platinum Stars went to the match as defending champions.

Supersport United began their 2014 Telkom Knockout campaign on Saturday afternoon of October 4, 2014 at their home ground at Lucas Masterpieces Moripe Stadium against Free State Stars and defeated them by 1-0.

On Saturday October 25, 2014 Supersport United defeated BidVest Wits 2-1 at BidVest Stadium to progress to the semi-finals.

On Saturday night of November 8, 2014 Supersport United defeated Orlando Pirates 2-0 at Orlando Stadium to book their place in the 2014 Telkom Knockout final.


Home and Away Team

The 2014 Telkom Knockout final was played at a neutral venue, the home ground of Orlando Pirates football club – Orlando Stadium, which meant non of the two finalist had a “real” home ground advantage.

Supersport United is from Pretoria in Gauteng and Platinum Stars is from Phokeng in the North West and the final was contested in Soweto, Johannesburg in Gauteng.

Supersport United had a “home team status” after a draw was conducted to decide exactly that (which of the two teams would have home team status), it has been reported that the team with the home team status gets first choice on everything including kit colours and locker rooms.



Supersport United wore their white away kit despite being the “home team” – the kit is white with blue markings. Platinum Stars wore their home kit, lime with navy blue markings.


The Match

Platinum Stars opened the scoring on the 28th minute after substitute Mogakolodi Ngele connected Robert Ng’ambi who fired home from just inside the area. Mogakolodi Ngele had just came on just a minute earlier to replace the injured Letladi Madubanya.

On the 36th minute David Mathebula was fouled in the box Luvolwethu Mpeta and Tshepo Gumede. Clayton Daniels took the penalty kick for Supersport United and made no mistake as he brought his team back on level terms. After 90 minutes of regulation time the match was deadlocked 1-1 as both sides failed to find the back of the net.

The match was sent to 30 minutes extra-time; on the 102nd minute Solomon Mathe fouled Thuso Phala, Clayton Daniels stepped up one more time for Supersport United  and once again made no mistake – this time putting them ahead. On the 104th minute substitute Mogakolodi Ngele who had assisted Robert Ng’ambi during the scoring of an opening goal scored one of his own pulling his team back into the match.

Mahlatse Makububela’s cross hit Thabo Moloi’s arm an the referee pointed to the spot, Eleazar Rodgers stepped up and his effort was saved to Ronwen Williams and none of the Platinum Stars players was able to bury the rebound. On 111th minute Thuso Phala scored the third goal for Supersport United making it 3-2, Platinum Stars were unable to score again until the final whistle. Supersport United were crowned 2014 Telkom Knockout champions.



SuperSport United Logo Platinum Stars Logo

Starting XI

30. Ronwen Williams 23. Siyabonga Mpontshane
02. Thabo Moloi 02. Vuyo Mere (C)
03. Sibusiso Khumalo 85′ 26. Thabiso Semenya
04. Clayton Daniels (C) 34′ 103′ 90′ 27. Tshepo Gumede
12. Enocent Mkhabela Substituted 70′ 31. Luvolwethu Mpeta
26. Thabo September 03. Letladi Madubanya Substituted 27′
13. Thuso Phala 14. Tintswalo Tshabalala
16. Dove Wome Substituted 105′ 22. Robert Ng’ambi 28′
18. Michael Morton 28. Solomon Mathe
23. Lebogang Manyama 09. Eleazar Rodgers
24. David Mathebula Substituted 98′ 10. Ndumiso Mabena


 Gordon Igesund
 Allan Freese


 All Substitutions NOT in Numerical Order All Substitutions NOT in Numerical Order
00. George Chigova 16. Kagiso Mlambo
06. Thamsanqa Teyise 11. Mogakolodi Ngele Substituted 27′  104′
15. Bennett Chenene 17. Mahlatse Makudubela Substituted 85′
07. Bradley Grobler Substituted 70′ 00. Marothi Diale
19. Dino Ndlovu Substituted 98′ 08. Vincent Khumalo
29. Morne Nel Substituted 105′ 33. Rofhiwa Tshikovhi
34. Brandon Dean 19. Rhulani Manzini

Match Statistics

 55% Possession 45%
 4 Corners  6
 12 Shots  17
 5 Shots on Target  8
 21 Fouls  15
 1 Offsides  2
 2 Yellow Cards  1
 0 Red Cards  0


Yellow Card
Goal Scorer
Substituted Substituted Out
Substituted Substituted In